All website must now meet minimum standards for accessibility. This ensures the content can be read by disabled and partially sighted people, using specialist software to read the page.

Accessibility applies to all areas of website development, including:

  • Navigation
  • Use of images
  • Use of colours and fonts
  • Use of language and standards in plain English
  • The underlying code standards

There are three levels of accessibility, A, AA and AAA.

All websites developed by Chameleon Interactive achieve AA standards.

It is possible to achieve the maximum AAA standards if required, but this also relies on the textual content of the website meeting certain standards (for example, abbreviations are not permitted, so Ltd must be written as "Limited", etc).

Editorial issues are beyond Chameleon Interactive's control, but we can provide detailed advice on how to structure and write content to meet the rigorous AAA standard.